Student Teaching Popular Literature

Where I student taught, the school offered seniors their choice of courses.  I was teaching the second session of Popular Literature, which was described to me as being the default English elective for grade 12.  I had 38 students in my classroom, plus myself and the host teacher.  The class, while packed, was filled with amazing students spanning different levels of writing capability.

The challenge I face when presenting lesson plans from this class on interviews stems mainly from it’s general theme.  Popular Literature, which was designed by my host teacher (a veteran teacher of 38 years), revolved around a curriculum of books that were labeled controversial at the time of their release.  The works chosen for the curriculum were:

in Just, E.E. Cummings

The Flowers, Alice Walker

A Family Supper, Kazuo Ishiguro

The Pact, Jodi Picoult

Doubt, John Patrick Shanley

The DaVinci Code, Dan Brown

The Kite Runner/A Thousand Splendid Suns, Khaled Hosseini  (Students were aloud to choose either book to read for class.  Unfortunately, I was unable to see this work in the context of the course, as I completed my program the first day of the unit, which was given to the class to start reading.)

As you can see, the books are far from traditional curricular fare.  The idea was to show the ambiguity of literature in the modern era, as opposed to the overall theme of good vs. evil in older, more traditional works.

About rinwhyte

Aspiring writer, born and bred in New York. I love to write fantasy and science fiction, as well as poetry.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

