Poetry Lesson 1

While student teaching, we decided to stop and do something different.  The class was given samples of poetry from students long graduated, and then given time to write their own poems.  This was an example I wrote in preparation for class, annotated with the four literary devices the students had to incorporate: archetype, allusion, alliteration, and diction.

Necktie

I sit here on my sofa under yours and Mom’s gaze,

A wintery[1] wind rapping gently against the window panes,

Stalking in from where I followed in your footsteps

I can see it, yet it feels so far away.

My son gave this to me, I hear you proudly declare,

As if that made it the most precious item in the entire world.

In the crowded pub, I envision you the center ring[2], where the shouts and

Hoots and clinking glass of a drunken din[3] fall silent just for you.

And now in the present, my hands chafe[4] the aging silk,

Are they the same as yours, I wonder, as much as the rest of me is?

One of my only links to you, dated and old, I could give it to others in need,

But I’ll keep it with my things anyway, because I gave it to you.

My fingers find the heavy object concealed within the cloth,

Pressing timidly, tiredly, tearfully[5] to hear its festive dirge[6].

The cheer has dwindled with age and wear, so very much like me,

I never thought “Jingle Bells” could depress me until this old necktie.


[1] Archetype

[2] Allusion

[3] Alliteration

[4] Diction

[5] Alliteration

[6] Diction

About rinwhyte

Aspiring writer, born and bred in New York. I love to write fantasy and science fiction, as well as poetry.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

